Forbidden City (City Spies Book 3)

Welcome Back!

I have been on a quest to read all of the City Spy books and so far I have been reading them pretty quickly and also I have been able to read the entire book in a day each time I have picked one up (which I feel like is pretty rare for me these days). I have already checked out book four on Libby so I plan to read that very soon but in the meantime, I am going to talk about book three (I do have reviews for books one and two still live here and on Goodreads)!

SPOILERS AHEAD

In this City Spies book, we are focusing on Paris, who is going to be entered into a chess tournament to try and help prevent a very important person from being recruited by Umbra. Paris will be playing in the chess tournament with this person’s son and it will allow the City Spies to keep an eye on dad as well as Paris to become better at chess. Outside of Paris’ mission, we see another City Spy, being forced to stay at home and get their studies in order, and another spy, being put to work at their dream job, only for it to not be as perfect as it seems.

I tried to keep my spoilers pretty vague in case you want to give this series a try (which I highly recommend). I think my theory in my last review is correct that will we focus heavily on one or two spies in each book, and I am really enjoying that style of writing. It allows us as readers to get to know the whole team slowly and see their strengths and weaknesses as well as their backstory that lead them to the City Spies. I thought the new/old friend that was made in this book was interesting and I will definitely be keeping a close eye on that friendship in book four. I hope to read book four in the next week or two!

Goodreads Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑