Golden Gate (City Spies Book 2)

Welcome Back!

I hope everyone who wanted to see the eclipse yesterday was able to! I live in the direct path so I did get some glasses and take a peek from my home! (Would love to hear about your eclipse experiences in the comments)! In the meantime, I am continuing to read through the City Spies series! This past week I picked up book two on audio through my Libby app and I was able to listen to it in one day. I had an amazing time with it and actually ended up reading book three right after!

SPOILERS AHEAD

Our group of city spies are working on so many things including trying to find their mentor and father figure’s birth children. Their mother took them with her years ago and they kind of disappeared but now they have a new lead and are headed to San Francisco. Here the city spies stumble onto much more than they came for including, a dead spy at the Botanical Gardens, but who killed this spy and why? What was this person after and does it have anything to do with them or the organization?

I really enjoyed this second book! I left book one wanting to know more about the children (the spies and the missing kids) and I was able to get both in this second book. I am still hoping we can officially find the children at some point but I know I have at least three other books to read as of right now (so I am still very hopeful). I could be wrong but I feel like each book is going to focus on one of the city spy kids (the first book was focused on the newest recruit and this book had a subplot focused on Sydney). I think giving each of the kids their own subplot per book has been a great way for us to organically learn more about them and I am excited to see where things go in the future. Before we wrap up this review, I have to say my absolute favorite thing about this book was the ending (MAJOR SPOILER) with the adoption. My heart was sooo happy. I can not wait to see where this new family heads to next.

Goodreads Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑