She Started It

Hello Again,

We are starting out this week with a slightly different review, as I ended up DNFing this book. I picked it up completely on a whim without knowing anything other than the genre and I was hoping I would like it or at least have fun with the story. But unfortunately at a point, I was just not having fun and felt like this was not the book for me. Today we are just going to talk about what I read and my thoughts!

SPOILERS AHEAD

Four girls who were friends in childhood are reunited as adults when another kid from their childhood, invites them to be in her wedding! This invite is a massive shock to all of them and they are all kind of agreeing and now they are going to the bachelorette party. Which is going to be at a fancy resort on an island paradise. However, when the girls arrive they realize there is no cell phone reception or wifi they are completely isolated until the end of the party when the ride comes back. So there is nothing to do but get along and have fun, right?

I thought this book started out very interesting. Friends reunited but one is not really a friend anymore. They alluded to an incident of some sort happening to the friend group when they were kids but there were never any details (at least in the parts I read). I think the setting was interesting and the people gathered there definitely had tons of potential to be a great twisty thriller, however, the book felt as though it was moving along very slowly. If you have picked up this book, definitely let me know your thoughts (especially if you think I should try again, I would love a reason to push through it)!

Goodreads Rating: 1 Star (Marked as a DNF)

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑