Check Please Book One!

Hey, hi, hello, I hope everyone is doing well.


It’s been a really busy month for me, I feel like time has really just flown by! I have been working a lot, reading a lot, and playing a lot of video games (including Animal Crossing). I’m definitely excited to see my monthly wrap-up and find out if I’ve been improved on my reading for the month at all, but I think I have! In the meantime, I want to talk about one of the books I finished recently, and that was Check Please Book One. I bought this book late last year after hearing a lot of amazing things about it, I love reading graphic novels and everyone had been saying amazing things about this book. Recently I was in a period where I felt myself hitting a reading slump so I perused my bookcases for a graphic novel to help keep me from my reading slump that’s when Check Please Book One caught my eye again. So without further ado let’s jump into my thoughts on Check Please!


SPOILERS AHEAD


Bitty is about to start his first year of university which just so happens to also be his first year on a hockey team. In high school, Bitty used to figure skate! He was an amazing skater and is really excited about joining a hockey team. His first few practices are definitely rough especially when he gets checked for the first time, however, Bitty is able to overcome this with the help of his new teammates and soon-to-be amazing best friends. As we’ve progressed through Bitty’s freshman year of university we follow him in a vlog style that allows us to get an inside peek not just in his life but the goings-on of his other hockey teammates. Soon the end of the year has come and Bitty is moving into the hockey team haus, baking in the kitchen, and ready to master second year! However old habits come back and Bitty has to work through some challenges in order to stay on the team. Bitty is ready to master second year, bake a lot, and rock on and off the ice!


I absolutely adored Check Please Book one, this might be one of my favorite graphic novels not just of 2021 but possibly ever. The whole hockey team became my favorite characters I always wanted to see what they were up to, wanted inside looks at their lives and their thoughts, and was so excited to spend time at the haus with Bitty and his friends. (Some of the other hockey team members are my favorite people and if they got their own spin-off I would totally read this same story from their perspective)! When the book ended I felt like I was going to cry at how the ending was left and I thought there was no way the author could end our story like this I immediately went online and ordered the second volume! I absolutely needed to know what was going to happen next. I also did some research to see if there’s going to be more Check Please after these two books because I could just use so much more Bitty and the hockey team in my life, unfortunately, I was unable to find anything that said there was going to be more than two books but if you know something please share! On top of loving the characters, plot, and just everything else about the book, I adored the colors and the art style. I cannot wait to dive into volume two and see how the end of university goes for Bitty and his friends.


Goodreads rating: Five stars (but it deserves so so many more)!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑